CERTIFICATE OF PROFICIENCY IN SPECIFIED CALIBER(S)
AND REQUEST FOR REPLACEMENT PERMIT FORM

This form may be used as proof of proficiency in a caliber(s) for the purpose of adding the caliber(s) to a
current BSIS Firearms Permit and to request a replacement permit listing the additional caliber(s).
THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE FIREARMS PERMIT HOLDER

Name Phone #
Firearm Permit# FQ Expiration Date
Address
Street City State Zip

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information provided
on this form is true and correct and that | have completed the minimum training requirements required,
with full knowledge that the information provided is subject to investigation and that any false or
dishonest information provided on this form may cause this request to add a caliber(s) to be denied;
may subject underlying licenses to discipline; and may result in other consequences according to law.

Signature Date Signed

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE BSIS CERTIFIED FIREARM INSTRUCTOR

DO NOT RELEASE THE FORM to the permit holder until you have completed all information required in
this section.

1. Draw aline through unused boxes in the Range Qualification Information Table below.
2. Do not provide corrected information. If you make an error, start a new form.

Facility Name Facility Phone #
Facility Address
Street City State Zip
Facility Certificate # TFF Expiration Date
Instructor Name Instructor Phone #
Instructor License # TIF Expiration Date

RANGE QUALIFICATION INFORMATION

Date of Written Exam
Classroom Date Range Date
Instruction Caliber(s)

The range qualification must be completed after the exam and must be completed within 30 days of the classroom
instruction (B&P Code § 7585.6)

| declare under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, that:
e The information | provided on this page is true and correct.

e The permit holder completed a course of training in the carrying and usage of firearms as prescribed by the California
Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division 7, Section 635.

e The permit holder qualified with a minimum score of 80 percent on a course of fire, as prescribed by the Bureau.

e The permit holder discharged 50 rounds, for each caliber of firearm to be added to an existing permit, a minimum of
two (2) times with live fire, one (1) for practice and one (1) for score (California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division
7, Section 635, subdivision VIII).

e The applicant passed the Bureau-approved written firearm exam with a score of 85 percent or more.

Instructor Signature Date Signed

7/2016 1




GENERAL INFORMATION — REQUESTING TO ADD A CALIBER TO AN EXISTING FIREARMS PERMIT
Submission Checklist

1. Submit a complete and signed Certificate of Proficiency in Specified Caliber(s) and Request for Replacement
Permit form (Certificate of Proficiency) to the Bureau for consideration and/or processing.

2. Adding a caliber(s) requires the issuance of a replacement firearms permit. Submit the $10.00 processing fee to
request a replacement Firearms Permit showing the added caliber(s) with this form.

General Information

1. Allow the Bureau at least 60 days to review and/or process your Certificate of Proficiency requesting to add a
caliber(s). DO NOT contact the Bureau to check on the status of your request unless it is over 60 days from date of
submission. You will be notified in writing if your request is deficient.

2. Use the Certificate of Proficiency to submit an add caliber(s) request to a current BSIS Firearms Permit. Do
not use a Firearms Permit Initial Application or a Firearms Permit Renewal Application to submit an add caliber(s)
request. Submission of an incorrect form constitutes a deficiency and the completion of the correct paperwork will be
requested.

3. A Bureau firearms permit authorizes the permit holder to carry an exposed (i.e. non-concealed) loaded
firearm only of the caliber(s) listed on the firearms permit card and only when on duty. A BSIS Firearm Permit
does not authorize the permit holder to carry a concealed loaded firearm. A current private patrol operator or alarm
company operator licensee; or registered security guard or alarm agent, or qualified manager for a private patrol
operator or alarm company operator licensee, cannot wear or use an exposed firearm while on duty unless s/he is
wearing a uniform.

4. By law a firearms permit renewal must be submitted 60 days prior to the permit expiring. The Bureau advises
permit holders to submit a request to add a caliber(s) between the first and third requalifications or wait and submit the
request to add a caliber(s) along with the renewal application in order to avoid having your firearms permit renewed
before your request to add a caliber.

Permit Holder Information

1. A Certificate of Proficiency requesting to add a caliber(s) to a current firearms permit may be submitted anytime
during the time period the firearms permit is valid.

2. Once a caliber(s) is added, you must thereafter requalify with the newly added caliber(s) each time you complete your
requalification. Once your new caliber(s) is added to your firearms permit, you are required to complete
requalifications for all calibers listed on your permit. You may sync your requalification schedule of your new caliber(s)
with your current requalification schedule. (Example: If you submit a Certificate of Proficiency requesting to add a
caliber(s) between the 1% and 2 requalification and the Bureau approves the request, you must then requalify with
the added caliber(s) at the time of the 2", 3", and 4™ requalification to renew the firearms permit with the approved
added caliber(s).)

Instructor Information

1. Range Qualification — A permit holder wishing to add a caliber(s) to his/her existing firearms permit must complete at
least 8 hours of classroom instruction on the carrying and use of a firearm(s), pass a Bureau-approved written firearm
exam with a minimum score of 85%, and qualify with the specified caliber(s) by discharging 50 rounds a minimum of
two (2) times with live fire, one (1) for practice and one (1) for score attaining a minimum score of 80%.

2. Caliber Boxes — Draw a line through unused caliber boxes and initial in the Range Qualification Information Table to
prevent the addition of information after you have signed and released the form.

3. Do not make revisions to the form. If you need to change information, start a new form. The Bureau has no way of
knowing if the change was made by the instructor or someone else.

Information for Renewing a Firearms Permit

1. No renewal notice will be mailed to you. You are responsible for completing and submitting a Firearms Permit
Renewal Application as required by law.

2. You are required, by law, to submit a renewal application at least 60 days prior to expiration of the current permit.
NOTE: The Bureau is unable to process renewal applications submitted more than 90 days prior to expiration (BPC
7542, 7583.23 & 7596.7)

3. You must complete four requalifications as follows: two (2) requalifications during each 12-month period of the
current permit’s two-year term with no two (2) requalifications completed closer than four (4) months apart. As each
range requalification is separate, you may complete each one with a single Bureau certified firearm instructor and
firearm training facility or with multiple instructors and facilities. NOTE: Failing to adhere to the required requalification
schedule will result in you being ineligible for renewal and the need to apply for a new initial firearms permit.
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