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Private Investigator (PI) license fees have remained unchanged since at least 1993. Per the U.S.
Inflation Calculator (www.usinflationcalculator.com) the cumulative inflation rate from 1993 to
2018 is 74%. Using the inflation calculator, the initial Pl application and license fees, totaling
$225.00, would be $393.00 today based on inflation alone. However, as noted in the audit report,
Pl license fee amounts have not been appropriately set to cover all Bureau expenditures related
to the enforcement of the Pl Act. The proposed fee increases would reflect adjustments
attributable to inflation, an appropriate alignment of revenue and expenditures, and increased
costs identified in the audit report, as well as additional statewide pro-rata (Fi$Cal) and increased
CalPERS expenses not reflected in the auditor’s report.

As with the Private Security Services (PSS) Fund fee increases, the Bureau would like to establish
a fee floor amount and a ceiling amount in statute. The proposed floor amounts would result in an
overall Pl Fund revenue increase of 175%. The ceiling fee amounts would reflect an additional
10% increase. Proposed language would align with that used for the fee increases supporting the
PSS Fund. Below is an example of the language used to establish the new security guard
registration fee.

A registration fee for a security guard shall be at least fifty-five dollars ($55) and may be increased
to an amount not to exceed sixty dollars ($60).

The “shall be” fee floor amounts would establish the new fees in statute which enables them to
become effective upon the operational date of the enacted legislation. The “not to exceed” reflects
the ceiling amount and to increase the fee from the floor would require the Bureau to promulgate
regulations. The promulgation of regulations is a public process.

As with the fee increases to the PSS Fund, the Bureau continues to pursue efforts to decrease
application deficiencies, increase operational efficiencies, and better educate licensees on the
requirements of the practice acts to help keep the Bureau’s overall expenditures as low as
reasonably feasible to push back the need for a future ceiling fee adjustment.

Given the current condition of the Pl Fund, legislation needs to be enacted in 2019 to enable the
floor amounts to go into effect January 1, 2020. The table below details current and proposed
floor/ceiling fees amounts for applicable PI license types.

Initial Renewal

Current Floor | Ceiling| Current| Floor Ceiling
Pl License $225.00| $825.00| $907.50| $125.00| $325.00| $357.50
Pl Assignment of License $125.00| $400.00| $440.00
Pl Branch Registration $30.00| $125.00| $137.50| $30.00| $125.00| $137.50
Certificate of Licensure?! $50.00| $25.00| $25.00
Endorsed Verification of
Licensure!? --| $25.00| $25.00
Replacement License?! $10.00| $25.00| $25.00
Re-examination Fee! $15.00| $60.00| $66.00

1) Aligns these fees with comparable fees that support PSS Fund to cover costs associated

with activities.

2) The PI Act does not currently authorize the issuance of an Endorsed Verification of

Licensure



http://www.usinflationcalculator.com/

Comparison of Proposed PI License Fees to Pl License Fees in Other States

State Initial Renewal
Proposed Pl Fee $825 $325
. $600 (unarmed

Washington $700 garme d) ) $350

Oregon $619 $550

Nevada $1,555* $600 (annual)
Arizona $6721 $272

Florida $5421 $450

New York $400-$500 $400-$500
New Mexico $400 $300

1) Includes fingerprint processing fee/background investigation costs

Comparison of Proposed PI License Fees to Other BSIS License Fees

State Initial Renewal
Proposed PI Fee $ 825 $325
Private Patrol Operator (PPO) | $1,320 $900
Alarm Company Operator? $1,320 $750
Repossession Agency? $1,320 $750
Locksmith Company? $ 500 $500
Firearms Training Facility® $ 800 $750
Baton Training Facility® $ 700 $500

1) Pl and PPO have QM as part of company application. Alarm and
Repo have separate QM certificate. Fee amounts listed include QM
certificate fee.

2) Locksmith Act does not provide for QM; therefore, application does
not include a QM applicant review.

3) Training Facilities do not have a QM but require an instructor to be
associated as a condition for maintenance of the certification. The
fee for a Firearms or Baton instructor certification is $350.
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