DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS TITLE 16. BUREAU OF SECURITY AND INVESTIGATIVE SERVICES

PROPOSED REGULATORY LANGUAGE

Fees

Legend:	Added text is indicated with an <u>underline</u> .
	Deleted text is indicated by strikeout.

Amend Section 638 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

§ 638. Locksmith Fees.

The fees prescribed by Section 6980.79 of the Locksmith Act in the Business and Professions Code are those fixed in the following schedule:

- (a) A locksmith license application fee shall be thirty dollars (\$30). two hundred seventy-five dollars (\$275).
- (b) An original license and renewal fee for a locksmith license shall be forty-five dollars (\$45). two hundred seventy-five dollars (\$275), and a renewal fee for a locksmith license shall be five hundred fifty dollars (\$550).
- (c) A branch office <u>initial</u> registration fee and <u>branch office renewal fee</u> shall be <u>thirty-five</u> dollars (\$35). two hundred seventy-five dollars (\$275), and a branch office renewal fee shall be one hundred sixty-five dollars (\$165).
- (d) An initial registration fee for an employee <u>performing the services of a locksmith</u> shall be <u>twenty dollars (\$20) sixty dollars (\$60).</u>
- (e) A registration renewal fee for an employee performing the services of a locksmith shall be twenty dollars (\$20). forty-four dollars (\$44).
- (f) The fee for a "Certificate of Licensure" shall be twenty-five dollars (\$205).

Authority cited: Section 6980.7, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 6980.79, Business and Professions Code.

Amend Section 639 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

§ 639. Private Investigator Fees.

The fees prescribed by Sections 7529 and 7570 of the Private Investigator Act in the Business and Professions Code are as follows:

- (a) The application and examination fee for an original license shall be three hundred forty dollars (\$340) plus the fee for each required enhanced photo identification card as set forth in subdivision (i). three hundred seventy-four dollars (\$374).
- (b) The application fee for an original branch office certificate shall be ninety dollars (\$90). ninety-nine dollars (\$99).
- (c) The fee for an original license for a private investigator shall be three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385). four hundred twenty-four dollars (\$424).
- (d) The renewal fee-is as follows: for a private investigator license shall be two hundred ninety-two dollars (\$292).
 - (1) For a license as a private investigator, the fee shall be two hundred sixty-five dollars (\$265) plus the fee for each required enhanced photo identification card as set forth in subdivision (i).
 - (2) For a branch office certificate for a private investigator, the fee shall be sixty-five dollars (\$65).
- (e) The renewal fee for a branch office certificate for a private investigator shall be seventy-two dollars (\$72).
- (e) (f) The fee for reexamination of an applicant or his or her their qualified manager shall be sixty dollars (\$60). sixty-six dollars (\$66).
- (f) (g) The processing fee for the assignment of a private investigator license shall be four hundred dollars (\$400). four hundred forty dollars (\$440).
- (g) (h) A firearms permit fee shall be one hundred dollars (\$100). one hundred ten dollars (\$110).
- (h) A (i) The firearms permit renewal fee shall be eighty dollars (\$80). eighty-eight dollars (\$88).
- (i) The "enhanced photo identification card fee" as provided in this section shall be four dollars (\$4) per card for each licensee including each individual, partner of a partnership, officer of a corporation, or member, manager, or officer of a limited liability company, and any qualified manager as defined in Section 7512.7 of the Code.
- (j) The fee for a qualified manager license shall be three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385).
- (k) The renewal fee for a qualified manager license shall be two hundred forty-eight dollars (\$248).

Authority cited: Section 7515, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7529, 7530 and 7570, Business and Professions Code.

Amend Section 640 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

§ 640. Private Security Services Fees.

The fees prescribed by Section 7588 of the Private Security Services Act <u>in the Business</u> <u>and Professions Code</u> are as follows:

- (a) The application and examination fee for an original license for a private patrol operator shall be five six hundred five dollars (\$500) (\$605).
- (b) The application fee for an original branch office certificate for a private patrol operator shall be two hundred fifty seventy-five dollars (\$250) (\$275).
- (c) The fee for an original license for a private patrol operator shall be seven eight hundred forty-seven dollars (\$700) (\$847).
- (d) The renewal fee is as follows: for a license as a private patrol operator shall be nine hundred ninety dollars (\$990).
 - (1) For a license as a private patrol operator, the fee shall be seven hundred dollars (\$700).
 - (2) For a combination license as a private investigator under Chapter 11.3 (commencing with Section 7512) and private patrol operator, AC or DC prefix, the fee shall be six hundred dollars (\$600).
 - (3) For a branch office certificate for a combination private investigator under Chapter 11.3 (commencing with Section 7512) and private patrol operator, the fee shall be forty dollars (\$40), and for a private patrol operator, the fee shall be seventy-five dollars (\$75).
- (e) The renewal fee for a branch office certificate for a private patrol operator shall be one hundred sixty-five dollars (\$165).
- (e) (f) The fee for reexamination of an applicant or his or her the applicant's manager shall be forty sixty-six dollars (\$40) (\$66).
- (f) (g) The Rregistration fees are as follows:
 - (1) A registration fee for a security guard shall be fifty dollars (\$50) sixty dollars (\$60).
 - (2) (h) A security guard registration renewal fee shall be thirty-five forty-four dollars (\$35) (\$44).
- (g) Fees to carry out other provisions are as follows:

- (1) A firearms qualification fee shall be eighty dollars (\$80).
- (2) A firearms requalification fee shall be sixty dollars (\$60).
- (3) An initial baton certification fee shall be fifty dollars (\$50).
- (4) An application fee and renewal fee for certification as a firearms training facility or a baton training facility shall be five hundred dollars (\$500).
- (5) An application fee and renewal fee for certification as a firearms training instructor or a baton training instructor shall be two hundred fifty dollars (\$250).
- (i) A firearms permit fee shall be one hundred ten dollars (\$110).
- (j) A firearms permit renewal fee shall be eighty-eight dollars (\$88).
- (k) An initial baton permit fee shall be sixty-six dollars (\$66).
- (I) A baton permit renewal fee shall be forty-four dollars (\$44).
- (m) An application fee for certification as a firearms training facility shall be eight hundred eighty dollars (\$880).
- (n) A renewal fee for certification as a firearms training facility shall be eight hundred twenty-five dollars (\$825).
- (o) An application fee for certification as a baton training facility shall be seven hundred seventy dollars (\$770).
- (p) A renewal fee for certification as a baton training facility shall be six hundred five dollars (\$605)
- (q) An application fee for certification as a firearms or baton training instructor shall be three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385).
- (r) A renewal fee for certification as a firearms training instructor shall be three hundred thirty dollars (\$330).
- (s) A renewal fee for certification as a baton training instructor shall be three hundred three dollars (\$303).
- (t) The fee for a qualified manager license shall be three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385).
- (u) The renewal fee for a qualified manager license shall be two hundred forty-eight dollars (\$248).

Authority cited: Section 7581, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7588, Business and Professions Code.

Amend Section 641 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

§ 641. Alarm Company Operator and Agent Fees.

The fees prescribed by Section 7599.70 of the Alarm Company Act in the <u>Business and</u> Professions Code are as follows:

- (a) An alarm company license application fee shall be thirty-five dollars (\$35). four hundred seven dollars (\$407).
- (b) An original license fee for an alarm company operator license shall be two hundred eighty dollars (\$280). six hundred sixty dollars (\$660). A renewal fee for an alarm company operator license shall be three hundred thirty-five dollars (\$335). eight hundred twenty-five dollars (\$825).
- (c) An alarm qualified manager <u>certificate</u> application and examination fee shall be one hundred five dollars (\$105). <u>three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385).</u>
- (d) A renewal fee for an alarm qualified manager <u>certificate</u> shall be one hundred twenty dollars (\$120). two hundred forty-eight dollars (\$248). A renewal fee for a branch office certificate shall be one hundred sixty-five dollars (\$165).
- (e) An original license fee and renewal fee for a branch office certificate shall be thirty-five dollars (\$35). two hundred seventy-five dollars (\$275).
- (f) A fee for reexamination of an applicant for a qualified manager shall be one hundred sixty-five dollars (\$165). sixty-six dollars (\$66).
- (g) An initial registration fee for an alarm agent shall be seventeen dollars (\$17). sixty dollars (\$60).
- (h) A registration renewal fee for an alarm agent shall be seven dollars (\$7). forty-four dollars (\$44).
- (i) A firearms qualification <u>permit</u> fee shall be <u>eighty dollars</u> (\$80) <u>one hundred ten dollars</u> (\$110) and a firearms requalification <u>permit renewal</u> fee shall be <u>sixty dollars</u> (\$60). <u>eighty-eight dollars</u> (\$88).
- (j) The fee for a "Certificate of Licensure" shall be <u>twenty-five</u> fifty dollars (\$25 50).
- (k) The <u>processing</u> fee for the assignment of an alarm company operator license shall be one hundred twenty-five dollars (\$125). four hundred forty dollars (\$440).

Authority cited: Section 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7593.15 and 7599.70, Business and Professions Code.

Amend Section 642 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

§ 642. Collateral Recovery Fees.

The fees prescribed by Section 7511 of the Collateral Recovery Act in the Business and Professions Code are as follows:

- (a) The application fee for an original repossession agency license shall be eight hundred twenty-five dollars (\$825). one thousand sixty-seven dollars (\$1,067).
- (b) The application fee for an original qualification <u>qualified manager</u> certificate shall be three hundred twenty-five dollars (\$325). three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385).
- (c) The renewal fee for a repossession agency license shall be seven hundred fifteen dollars (\$715) eight hundred twenty-five dollars (\$825) biennially.
- (d) The renewal fee for a license as a qualified <u>manager</u> certificate holder shall be four hundred fifty dollars (\$450) two hundred forty-eight dollars (\$248) biennially.
- (e) Notwithstanding Section 163.5, the reinstatement fee for a repossession agency license required pursuant to Sections 7503.11 and 7505.3 is the amount equal to the renewal fee plus a penalty of 50 percent thereof.
- (f) Notwithstanding Section 163.5, the reinstatement fee for a license as a qualified certificate holder required pursuant to Sections 7504.7 and 7503.11 is the amount equal to the renewal fee plus a penalty of 50 percent thereof.
- (<u>ge</u>) A fee for reexamination of an applicant for a qualified manager shall be thirty dollars (\$30). sixty-six dollars (\$66).
- (<u>\$6</u>) An initial registrant registration fee shall be <u>seventy-five dollars</u> (<u>\$75</u>) <u>eighty-two dollars</u> (<u>\$82</u>), a registrant reregistration fee shall be <u>thirty dollars</u> (<u>\$30</u>) <u>eighty-two dollars</u> (<u>\$82</u>), and a registrant biennial renewal fee shall be <u>sixty dollars</u> (<u>\$60</u>) <u>forty-four dollars</u> (<u>\$44</u>) per registration. Notwithstanding Section 163.5 and this subdivision, the reregistration fee for a registrant whose registration expired more than one year prior to the filing of the application for reregistration shall be <u>seventy-five dollars</u> (<u>\$75</u>). <u>eighty-two dollars</u> (<u>\$82</u>).
- (i) The delinquency fee is 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on the date of expiration, but not less than twenty-five dollars (\$25).
- (j) The fingerprint processing fee is that amount charged the bureau by the Department of Justice.

- (k) The director shall furnish one copy of any issue or edition of the licensing law and rules and regulations to any applicant or licensee without charge. The director shall charge and collect a fee of ten dollars (\$10) plus sales tax for each additional copy which may be furnished on request to any applicant or licensee, and for each copy furnished on request to any other person.
- (1) (g) The processing fee for the assignment of a repossession agency license pursuant to Section 7503.9 of the Code shall be one hundred twenty-five dollars (\$125). four hundred forty dollars (\$440).

Authority cited: Section 7501.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7511, Business and Professions Code.

Amend Section 642.5 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

§ 642.5. Proprietary Private Security Officer Fees.

The fees authorized by Sections 7574.2 of the Proprietary Security Services Act 7574.11 and 7574.13 in the Business and Professions Code are as follows:

- (1) A registration fee for a proprietary private security guard shall be fifty dollars (\$50). (a) An application for registration as a proprietary private security officer shall be sixty dollars (\$60).
- (2) (b) The renewal fee for A a registered proprietary private security officer guard registration renewal fee shall be thirty-five dollars (\$35). shall be forty-four dollars (\$44).
- (3) (c) The delinquency fee for renewal as a proprietary private security officer shall be is 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on the date of expiration, but not less than twenty-five dollars (\$25).
- (d) The application fee for registration as a proprietary private security employer shall be three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385).
- (e) The renewal fee for a registered proprietary private security employer shall be three hundred eighty-five dollars (\$385).
- (f) The delinquency fee for renewal as a proprietary private security employer shall be 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on the date of expiration.
- (g) The reinstatement fee following a suspension pursuant to this section shall be 25 percent of the renewal fee.

Authority cited: Section 7574.2 7574.05, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7542.2 163.5, 7574.11, 7574.13 and 7574.36 Business and Professions Code.