

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY · GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS BUREAU OF SECURITY AND INVESTIGATIVE SERVICES P.O. Box 989002, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002 P (916) 322-4000 | P (800) 952-5210 | F (916) 575-7290 | www.bsis.ca.gov



# Frequently Asked Questions Alarm Company Operator (ACO) License

- What are the requirements for licensing an Alarm Company Operator? You may review the licensing requirements for an ACO in the the Alarm Company Fact Sheet<sup>1</sup>.
- 2. What forms and documents must be included with the application?
  - Personal Identification Form: Alarm Company Operator, Principals, Corporate Officers, Managing Members, and Alarm Company Qualified Manager (Form 31D-9)<sup>2</sup>
  - Once you apply, submit the Live Scan<sup>3</sup> fingerprinting
  - Corporate Applicants Only:
    - Copy of endorsed Articles of Incorporation (Domestic Corporation) or copy of endorsed Statement and Designation by Foreign Professional Corporation Form (Foreign Corporation) filed with the California Secretary of State (SOS), and
    - $\circ$   $\,$  Copy of Statement of Information filed with the SOS.
  - Limited Liability Company (LLC) Applicants Only:
    - Copy of endorsed Articles of Organization of a Limited Liability Company (Domestic LLC) or copy of endorsed Application to Register a Foreign Limited Liability Company (Foreign LLC) filed with the California Secretary of State (SOS),
    - Copy of Copy of Statement of Information filed with the SOS.

### 3. How do I apply?

You apply online using BreEZe<sup>4</sup>, and make sure to include the applicable documents referenced in question number 2 above.

### 4. How much does it cost to apply for an ACO license?

Please reference the BSIS Licensing Fees<sup>5</sup> document on our website for a detailed list of the fees.

## 5. How long is an ACO license valid?

An ACO license is valid for two years.

## 6. I was denied an ACO license. When can I reapply?

You may submit a new application one year from the date of denial.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>https://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms\_pubs/alarm\_fact.pdf</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> https://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms\_pubs/aco\_pid\_form.pdf

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> https://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms\_pubs/livescan/alarm\_co.pdf

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> <u>https://www.breeze.ca.gov/</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> https://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms\_pubs/newfees.pdf

# 7. I was only convicted of a misdemeanor. Can the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS) still deny my license?

Yes. A conviction does not have to be a felony for the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services to deny licensure. The nature of the crime, whether it was related to the duties of an ACO, the length of time elapsed since conviction, any evidence of rehabilitation, or mitigating circumstances are all considered when deciding whether or not to deny licensure.

#### 8. Is an ACO required to carry liability insurance?

If an ACO is organized as a Limited Liability Company (LLC), it is required by law to obtain a general liability insurance policy with a minimum general aggregate liability limit of one million dollars (\$1,000,000) for initial licensure, and to have the required insurance in effect at the time of license renewal and for the continued maintenance of the license. If the ACO LLC has more than five managing members, the insurance coverage requirement increases by \$100,000 for each additional member, up to a maximum required amount of \$5 million. (Business and Professions Code Section 7599.34). For additional information, visit Alarm Company Organized as Limited Liability Company<sup>6</sup>.

#### 9. How does an ACO renew his/her license?

After two years, the license is scheduled for renewal. Prior to the expiration of the license, the licensee may receive a courtesy renewal notice mailed to the last address of record approximately 90 days in advance. Also, a reminder email will be sent approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date if an email address is on the BreEZe account record. Renew online using BreEZe<sup>7</sup>.

#### 10. When does an ACO license become delinquent?

The ACO license is delinquent the day after the expiration date. To renew your license once it is delinquent you must pay the renewal fee and the delinquent fee.

#### 11. How long after the expiration of my license am I able to renew my license?

You may renew your license up to three years after it has expired. Please note, if you renew more than two years after expiration, contact the Bureau by email to determine the correct renewal fee amount due at <u>AlarmCompanies@dca.ca.gov</u>. The license may be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee(s), the delinquent fee(s) and any fines assessed against the license. If you fail to renew your license three years after expiration, you must submit a new application and begin the application process again to be licensed as an ACO.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> <u>https://www.bsis.ca.gov/industries/insurance\_alarm.pdf</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> <u>https://www.breeze.ca.gov/</u>

#### 12. How do I notify the Bureau of my change of address?

Submit your change of address application online using BreEZe<sup>8</sup>.

**13. If I lost my ACO license or it was destroyed or damaged, how do I obtain a duplicate?** If you have lost or destroyed your ACO license, you can submit a request for a replacement license online using BreEZe<sup>8.</sup>

#### 14. The name/address was misspelled on my license. Is there a fee for a new one?

No,an error made by the Bureau should be corrected without charge. Please clarify the error in writing, include proof of the Bureau's error (preferably a copy of the submitted application), and submit by email to <u>bsis@dca.ca.gov</u>. (This does not apply to address changes when submitted after a renewal was paid and already mailed.)

#### 15. Can an ACO license use a post office box for an address?

Yes, under certain circumstances. The ACO license may list a Post Office box (PO Box) as the Address of Record (AOR) only if mail delivery to the business address is not possible, or if the place of business is located at the licensee's personal residence. **NOTE:** if providing a PO Box as the AOR, you must provide the Bureau with your residence address. This request must be explained in writing. Otherwise, the company must state address by street, number and city. In addition, no licensee shall conduct business from any location other than the location for which a license or branch office registration was issued.

#### 16. How do you open a branch office? Is there a fee?

Apply online for a Branch Office Certificate Application: Alarm Company Operator. Yes there is a fee. Please reference the BSIS Licensing Fees<sup>9</sup> document on our website for a detailed list of fees.

# 17. Is an out-of-state ACO licensee or the licensee's qualified manager required to have a continuous presence in California?

Yes. The California Alarm Company Act (Business and Professions Code Section 7594.5<sup>10</sup> requires an alarm company to be operated under the active control and management, in this state, by an ACO licensee, if he or she is the qualified manager for the license, or the licensee's qualified manager. In order to ensure compliance with the provisions of the Alarm Company Act, it is necessary for the licensee, if he or she is the qualified manager for the licensee, or the licensee, or the licensee, or the licensee or the licensee or the licensee or the licensee or the licensee.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> <u>https://www.breeze.ca.gov/</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> <u>https://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms\_pubs/newfees.pdf</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> <u>https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes\_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=7594.5.</u>